Kelly Ohlert

TO GET TO THE OTHER SIDE
Coming December 6, 2022

In the vein of Lyssa Kay Adams and Abby Jimenez, Kelly Ohlert’s charming debut is a one-of-a-kind rom-com that explores the power of overcoming the past and fighting for the things you love.

Trixie isn’t exactly sure what she was thinking when she stopped her car in the middle of downtown Chicago, scooped up a chicken struggling to cross the road, and drove off… but she does know that she has to find a new home for herself and her new feathered friend. The landlord at her apartment doesn’t allow pets and has caught Trixie in one too many pet-smuggling attempts in the past.

Bear likes his quiet life with his close-knit family, who own a flower business, but he’s in for a rude awakening when his meddlesome sisters post an ad to rent the spare room in his simple home, without asking his permission. Still, when Trixie responds to the ad, he agrees to let her move in, despite immediate worries about keeping things platonic.

Determined to keep her new room, become friends with Bear, and give Chick-chick, the rescue chicken, the care she deserves, Trixie fights to keep her walls up and not give in to her romantic feelings for Bear. However, it’s not long before the pair’s proximity and chicken parenting ignite flames that have Trixie and Bear testing the boundaries of their platonic ground rules. They have to figure out how to save a family business, pay for mounting vet bills, and navigate their own emotional baggage if they want to find the love that they all deserve.

Perfect for readers of The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary, and fans of The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez, readers will find themselves rooting for every one of the relatable, but tenderly flawed, characters in this book and brushing away tears as they follow the heartwarming antics of a rescue chicken and her human companions.

About me

Kelly Ohlert is an adult fiction author, with a focus on romantic comedy. Her debut novel, To Get To The Other Side comes out December 6, 2022 with Alcove Press. She’s a lifelong avid reader of all genres, and as a busy mom has an enthusiastic appreciation for audio books and multi-tasking.

Kelly grew up in the Chicago area, but moved to attend Western Michigan University. She stuck around Michigan, hopping from city to city. Her meet cute involved “borrowing” that hot guy’s baseball cap, and it’s been love ever since. She, her husband(the aforementioned ball cap owner), and their two young daughters reside in the Lansing area, with their menagerie of five fur babies. Aside from the obvious reading and writing, Kelly’s hobbies include belting out show tunes, game nights, losing her cell phone with alarming frequency, and getting outside to enjoy nature. If you meet her, approach with caution. She works from home, and in her cabin fevered state, has been known to pounce on unsuspecting strangers to leach them of an ounce of adult conversation.


Praise for
To Get To The Other Side

To Get to the Other Side is a sweet and heartwarming debut. Bear and Trixie fill this grumpy-sunshine romance with quirky fun.” 

—Kelly Siskind, author of New Orleans Rush

To Get to the Other Side delivers humor, delightful yearning, and a completely charming meet-cute. Ohlert shows us what’s on the other side of the road, and it’s sparkling chemistry.”

—Denise Williams, author of The Fastest Way to Fall

Contact my agent Emmy Nordstrom-Higdon (they/them)